Monster Reborn A Black Luster Soldier – Envoy Of The Beginning? — Ruling

Black Luster Soldier – Envoy Of The Beginning and similiar monsters — Rulings

I just got problems with some stupid duelists a few days ago at DN with the following ruling question:

I want to revive his properly summoned BLS from grave, but he says it can’t be special summoned because of his effect text (which isn’t true), so here the ruling for all you guys (so that you won’t have problems like me again, even a stupid Admin was wrong):

So first there are two groups of monsters which can only be special summoned by certain ways (like DAD, BLS, Fusion Heros, Ritual monsters etc.).

1. “Cannot be Special Summoned except by…” – Nomi Monsters

This type of monsters can only be special summoned by its own way of summoning. Examples are DAD, Fusion Heros, Judgement Dragon, etc.
Those cards cannot be special summoned with special summoning cards like Monster Reborn even though they have been summoned properly. The technical term of this type of monsters is “Nomi Monster”.

Card texts usually say:

Must be Fusion Summoned and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways. (…)

E-HERO Absolute Zero

or:

Cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. Must be Special Summoned (from your hand) by having exactly 3 DARK monsters in your Graveyard, and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways.

Dark Armed Dragon

List Of Nomi-Monsters:

2. “Can only be Special Summoned by…” – Semi-Nomi Monsters

This group is somehow different from the first group, you have to check the spelling closely: It just says “Can only be Special Summoned by…”.

Examples are:

Cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. Must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) by banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster from your Graveyard.
Chaos Sorcerer

or:

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by removing from play 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster in your Graveyard.
Black Luster Soldier - Envoy Of The Beginning

This group of monsters allows us to special summon them again after it has been summoned in it’s own way properly.
The two Envoys and Chaos Sorcerer belong to this group, as do all Rituals, Fusions and Synchros/XYZ’s by default, except for a few who have text that include them in the first group.
The backside of this awesome fact is, that if your opponent interrupts your summoning with something like Solemn Judgement, Solemn Warning, Rai-Oh, Roach, etc, you can’t summon them with Monster Reborn or similiar cards, because they weren’t summoned properly.

I guess, I don’t have to mention that you don’t need to fullfill the costs of removing or tributing again if you special summon them with Monster Reborn or something similiar.

List Of Semi-Nomi Monsters/Special Summon-Only Monsters:

Sources:

4 comments on “Monster Reborn A Black Luster Soldier – Envoy Of The Beginning? — Ruling

    • Well since it’s an Open Source layout there will always be blogs which have similiar layouts, that’s an undeniable fact, but I’m trying to do my own thing and not to copy other blogs. I do take some inspiration from other blogs, but normally if I’m doing that I’ll make it clear in my posts and name my source. I’m glad that you like the Theme of my blog ;)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s