Wind-Up Zenmaines Rulings

After a long time I’ll post some rulings here again. These rulings will enlighten some difficult issues of the frequently played Wind-Up Zenmaines. The rulings are mostly translated from the japanese FAQ of Konami and taken from Yugioh-Wikia, so there could be minor translation mistakes… But whatever, most of them are understandable so that will be sufficient.

Rulings are translated from Yu-Gi-Oh! OCG Rule & FAQ Offical Database and Yu-Gi-Oh! Card Wiki.

Credits to d3stin3d and others.

Well first we have the card and the effect first:

  • 2 Level 3 monsters
    If this face-up card on the field would be destroyed, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card instead. Once per turn, during the End Phase, if this effect was used this turn: Target 1 card on the field; destroy it.

Now the rulings, some are available on Yugioh-Wikia but not all of them.

  • The effect that detaches 1 Xyz Material from this card instead when it would be destroyed does not start a chain.[1]
  • The effect of “Wind-Up Zenmaines” that detaches Xyz Materials instead when it would be destroyed can be applied multiple times during a single turn. Also, even if that effect is activated twice during a single turn, the effect that activates during the End Phase only activates once.[2]
  • After “Wind-Up Zenmaines” applies its effect that detaches Xyz Materials instead when it would be destroyed, if it’s not face-up before the End Phase, the effect that destroys cards on the field does not activate. Also, if at the time of the resolution of the effect that destroys cards on the field “Wind-Up Zenmaines” has left the field, the targeted card is still destroyed.[3]

Well that’s everything for today.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s